Curriculum - Key Learning Areas

Harrington Street Public School embraces the philosophy of 'Enriching Lives Through Learning'.

Primary learning includes whole-class, group and individual activities designed to develop an inquiring mind and teach basic skills needed for school and later life.

Literacy and numeracy are the building blocks of learning and that is why English and mathematics take up half of students' learning time in primary school.

Kindergarten to Year 6 focuses on six key learning areas:

  • english
  • mathematics
  • science and technology
  • human society and its environment personal development,
  • health and physical education
  • creative arts

Primary schools in NSW follow a curriculum based on stages of learning.

Each stage is approximately equivalent to two school years. For each learning stage there are skills, knowledge and a level of understanding that each student should develop.

Early Stage 1 refers to Kindergarten

  • Stage 1 includes Years 1 and 2
  • Stage 2 includes Years 3 and 4
  • Stage 3 includes Years 5 and 6

The Board of Studies develops a syllabus for each of the learning areas. Along with a defined aim, each syllabus has a set of objectives and outcomes, expressed in terms of knowledge and understandings, skills, values and attitudes.