Curriculum - Key Learning Areas

Kindergarten to Year 6 focuses on six key learning areas:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science and technology
  • Human Society and its Environment (History and Geography)
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education (PDHPE)
  • Creative Arts

Primary schools in NSW follow a curriculum based on stages of learning. Each stage is approximately equivalent to two school years. For each learning stage there are skills, knowledge and a level of understanding that each student should develop.

Early Stage 1 refers to Kindergarten

  • Stage 1 includes Years 1 and 2
  • Stage 2 includes Years 3 and 4
  • Stage 3 includes Years 5 and 6

Over the past few years, NSW has been in the process of incorporating the Australian Curriculum into its NSW Syllabus documents. 

For more information, please visit the Parents' Guide to the New K-10 NSW Syllabuses. You can also download a handy booklet that provides additional information.